Natjames1's Blog
Information for Our People of Color!!

POETRY FOR OUR PEOPLE

“YOU ARE A STAR” – By Gwen O’Neal
Each one of us have our own uniqueness.
A completeness that makes us who we are.
A Star that twinkles, giving off it’s own light.
So, then, why do we fight, we try with all our might to out do the other sistah
When we reach out to embrace there is a trace of resentment.
So much quarreling, the cycle is whirling, faster and faster, round and round.
But the sound is a whisper.  We whisper and we talk behind each others’ back,
‘Cause we lack the courage to face ourselves.
Wouldn’t it be a whole lot clearer to turn and face the woman in the mirror?
When you look in her eyes, you’ll see her cries.
Learn to love her, yearn to embrace her.
Let GOD heal the girl and set her free,
Gradually you’ll see the woman emerge,
As you stand on the verge of your breakthrough.
My GOD, a Star, how beautiful we are twinkling together in unity.
If scrutiny tries to intervene, don’t make a scene —
JUST TURN TO THE MIRROR AND BECOME CLEARER!

“THIS WOMAN KNOWS HER WORTH” – By Dr. Red
My worth is unmentionable; you cannot put a price on me —
Portuguese and Black sister with GOD’s love to proclaim.
Light skinned sista with light colored eyes —
Oh Yes, we come in different colors, and shapes, and sizes.
A very proud Black woman, a true artifact of class.
You couldn’t rate me with a dirty coin.
A dime piece?!!! PLEASE, I will surely pass!
I love and fear GOD, there’s no shame in my game.
Won’t for a second, ignoring a man calling me ‘baby,’ ‘ma,’ or ‘shorty…’
My mother already gave me a name.
You can’t determine my being a woman from the wiggle in my behind,
But do it by how I respect people whether they’re crippled, crazy or blind.
For JESUS is love and He surely loves you and me,
And for that I love myself…
I HOPE THERE ARE A FEW SISTAS OUT THERE LIKE ME!

“A SONG FOR SHEROES” – By Bob McNeil
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend
That each sister has a Harriet Tubman
Prepared to seek a place where men
Do not abuse their Queens,
A place that erects Jewels of Respect.
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend
That each sister has a Shirley Chisholm
Prepared to shake and make every state understand that liberation
Must not become a membership card only given to men.
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend,
Women, make men comprehend
That each sister has a Dr. Mae C. Jemison
Entering a NASA shuttlecraft that ascends to a time
Where gender mistreatment ends.
Women, make men comprehend, Women, make men comprehend,
WOMEN, MAKE MEN COMPREHEND!

“BOOK OF LIFE” – By Eazy
Listen to the words they speak, Hatred comes from their teaching,
Wickedness came from their greed, Slavery came from their fear,
Am I to follow their path?  Am I to teach my youth their ways?
I think not – Empowering my mind with knowledge,
Surrendering my heart to wisdom from peace,
To re-teach the seeds of the love that we had stolen from us,
The joy which we carried is still deeply buried within us,
My youth want to see my days because
I give them the same as my Father gave me,
FREEDOM TO READ THE BOOK OF LIFE!

“EQUALITY” – By Maya Angelou
You declare you see me dimly through a glass that will not shine,
Though I stand before you boldly, trim in rank and making time.
You do own to hear me faintly as a whisper out of range,
While my drums beat out the message and the rhythms never change.
EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE.  EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE.
You announce my ways are wanton, that I fly from man to man,
But if I’m just a shadow to you, could you ever understand?
We have lived a painful history, we know the shameful past,
But I keep on marching forward, and you keep on coming last.
EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE.  EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE.
Take the blinders from your vision, take the padding from your ears,
And confess you’ve heard me crying, and admit you’ve seen my tears.
Hear the tempo so compelling, hear the blood throb through my veins,
Yes, my drums are beating nightly, and the rhythms never change.
EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE.  EQUALITY, AND I WILL BE FREE!

“HAVE FAITH IN SELF” – By Marcus Garvey (1887-1940)
Today I made myself in life anew, by going to that royal fount of truth,
And searching for the secret of the few whose goal in life and aim is joy forsooth,
I found at last the friend and counselor that taught me all that I in life should know;
It is the soul, the soverign chancellor, the guide and keeper of the good you sow.
I am advised – “Go ye, have faith in self, and seek once more the guide that lives in you,”
Much better than the world of sordid pelp, Alas!  I found the counsel to be true.
Aha! I know right now that I shall see the good in life, and be a better man;
I will, by thought and deed pull all to me, in saving others, yea, every one.
Go down and search yourself awhile in part, and tell me all of what you see and hear;
Isn’t there something pulling at your heart? Tell me the truth and have ye then no fear!
There is a voice that speaks to man, within, it is the Soul that longs for you to know
There is no need for you to grope in sin,
FOR YOU IN TRUTH AND LIGHT MAY EVER GROW!

ENJOY!

NATALIE R. FITTEN

No Responses to “POETRY FOR OUR PEOPLE”

Leave a Reply

